Final Icebreaker Speech

Good evening Madam President , fellow toastmasters and dear guest .

On 10th october or the way I call it – on ‘Ten – Ten’ in 10 pm in the night I was born. Astrologer said to my parents your kid is a special kid born on a very auspicious time and I was named ‘Akshay’. Then another astrologer said to my parents ‘akshay’ isn’t a suitable name for me , finally I was named ‘Prateek’ – the symbol of eternal love of my parents.

i grew up in Udaipur in a joint family where 20 relatives were living under 1 roof. It was fun why because i had my own small cricket team.  I spent my childhood playing cricket in our backyard with our new own set of rules such as breaking glass or hitting outside the house or hitting the cooler was considered out .

During my childhood i had only 1 goal – to terrorize my sister . Indeed i was a ____ terrorist .

Like every _____ parent(check) , my parents too had a dream that their son should be an IItian . To achieve their dream i was sent to kota where i did everything except studying .

My destiny took me to dayanand sagar college of engineering , Bangalore . It was beginning of a new adventurous life which started with a ___ (exciting) ragging session and ____ (entertaining) hostel life where every day use to be a new day with new story floating around. I was famous for knowing information about every girl in the college.

i lived on the motto – Take risk & conquer world . I took risks – stole internals papers & blue books from HOD’s table, cheated  in internal papers , gave multiple proxies & bunked classes . I spent majority of time in completing TV series (better frame it). Four years went away with a blink of an eye.  Life is funny, I use to hate college but now I would give anything to re-live my college days. My hard work as a electrical engineer paid off and i got recruited as system engineer in Infosys Limited.

A new journey began  with ________ Mysore campus and grilling training sessions where i made my new enemy , Dev square. i preserve my sanity by increasing the revenue of Purple Haze . Old habits die hard – Old habits die hard, I gave proxy in Mysore training, cheated in training and copied the entire Post project. Then the biggest shock of my life came when I saw my posting as Chennai DC. I was devastated and grumbled about the unfair Infosys. After my cribbing ended, I told to myself ‘Chennai won’t be that bad’ but I was wrong it was worst. Humidity added salt to my wounds. After 1 year of perspiration and struggle, I was transferred to Pune DC

I am a typical Libra – Ambitious , meticulous ,  romantic , charming , sagacious , fair/unbiased , friendly/affable and peace loving. i have _____ curiosity to learn new talent so don’t be surprise if you saw me in any new HR initiative .

I call myself jack of all trade – master of none . I have learned Thai boxing , Squash , Table Tennis , yoga & Cuban dance such as salsa , jive , bachata & rhueda.

I am a proud bibliophile . I can’t rest until i finish a book – i can read all genre – friction , non friction , thriller , romantic , science fiction , fantasy and classic. I can read every where – i am so that i have downloaded the audio file in my phone so that i can listen to book while travelling (new format).

i am a avid blogger and my blogs are straight from my mind and my heart to Word Press.

(Transition)

Don’t expect anything to happen – go out and get it.
Life’s too short. Cherish every moment & Follow your dreams.

In the words for Mark Twain – “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

Thank You.

🙂

prAts!

Leave a comment